Akron ASM Meeting Notice
Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Annual Joint Meeting Akron ASM & Akron ASME

Reservations requested by: Monday, January 19, 2015 by 11:00 a.m.

Walk- ins are welcome. Reservations not cancelled 2 days prior to meeting will be invoiced as we must pay for meals reserved.

Contact: Dave Houser, davidhouser519@gmail.com 330-860-1788

Technical Chair: David P. Houser, P.E., The Babcock & Wilcox Co.

Speaker: Dr. R. Scott Lillard, Ph.D., Dept. of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Akron.

Dr. R. Scott Lillard, Ph.D. is a Professor and Carboline Chair in Corrosion, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Akron. Before joining the University he was a Technical Staff Member in the Materials Science & Technology Division of the Los Alamos National Laboratory for over 16 years. Dr. Lillard received his Ph.D. in Materials Science and Engineering from the G.W. Whiting School of Engineering at the Johns Hopkins University in 1992. He completed his Post-Doctoral work at the University of Virginia in 1995. He is the author of over 70 technical publications in the field of corrosion. Scott is a Fellow of NACE International and the US Editor for Corrosion Engineering Science & Technology.

Topic: New Fuel Cladding Materials for Preventing Loss of Coolant Accidents in Nuclear Power Reactors

A loss-of-coolant accident (LOCA) is the general term used to describe several failure modes in both boiling water and light water reactors when the circulating cooling water is lost. In this presentation we will address one specific failure mode: the steam oxidation of fuel cladding which results in rapid cladding failure and, in some cases, hydrogen generation. As an example of this failure mode we will discuss the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear disaster and the corrosion reactions that lead to hydrogen buildup and ultimately the explosions of the reactor containment buildings. To avoid this failure mode Case Western Reserve University and the University of Akron are developing a unique surface carburization process to treat BWR and LWR fuel cladding. This process is being designed to decrease cladding corrosion and hydrogen pickup rates during normal reactor operation and to decrease the steam-metal oxidation rate, the heating rate associated with rapid oxidation, and the hydrogen-generation rate of conventional BWR/LWR cladding materials during design-basis and beyond-design-basis loss-of-coolant and under-cooling accidents.

Location:New Era Cafe, 10 Massillon Rd. Akron, OH 44312 330-784-0087
Time: Networking: 5:30 / Dinner: 6:30 p.m. / Presentation: 7:30
Cost:$20.00 members & spouses / $22.00 guests / $15.00 retirees / $5.00 Students
Buffet: Lasagna, Chicken Paprikas, Potato, Vegetables, Salad, Dessert, coffee & soft drinks.
Vegetarians: Request "vegetarian" with your reservation so that we can order your meal.

Engineers Week Banquet February 26, 2015, held at Emidio & Son's Banquet Center. For reservations please link to: www.AkronEweek.org. Tickets are $25 before Feb. 1, and after that tickets are $30.00. NOTE: Due to extenuating circumstances there has been a change to the recipient of the Akron ASM Engineers Week Outstanding Achievement Award. The 2015 Outstanding Achievement Award will be presented to Mr. Charles Kay, Vice-President of Sales and Marketing, ASB Industries, Inc., Barberton, Ohio.

ASM Akron Eighth Annual Teachers Camp 2015 is scheduled for July 20-24, 2015. Contact Dr. Bob Shemenski, FASM. Click to email. See the Teachers Camp tab to the right

Note that we have canceled our Materials Selection Course scheduled for February 2015. Thank you for your inquiries.

Following the EWeek banquet, the next scheduled Technical Meetings are the annual Thermal Spray Night, Wednesday, March 18, 2015, and the Student Night/Member Recognition Night, Wednesday, April 15, 2015.

Please keep your e-mail address up to date by furnishing it to ASM International via your log-in page at www.asminternational.org

ASM Akron Annual Sponsors are now listed Here

In Appreciation We Thank our Sponsors